Read Around The World Fall Reading Challenge

For this Fall’s reading challenge, we invite you to read around the world! We’ve divided the world into twenty regions. Read a book set in a region or written by an author from that region to fill the category. For each category you fill, you will get one entry into the drawing for our grand prize, 4 new books of your choice! (some restrictions apply) . Each Region is color-coded. You can pick up a copy of this map and a paper reading log at the Lending Desk or use BeanStack to track your progress online. After you’ve completed 4 categories, stop in for a tote bag or other small gift (while supplies last).

See below for the countries included in each region. The links go to a list of books available on the CloudLibrary for each region, but any book that qualifies is fine, in any format: ebook, audiobook or print! See the Lending Desk if you need help with finding a book.

North America Region (US, Canada, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Cayman Islands, Jamaica, Bermuda, Bahamas, Turks and Caicos Islands, Puerto Rico, British Virgin Islands, US Virgin Islands, Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama and Mexico)

South American Region (Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru, Guyana, French Guiana, Suriname, Brazil, Bolivia, Paraguay, Chile, Uruguay, Argentina, Trinidad and Tobago, Aruba, Curaçao, Grenada, Barbados, St Lucia, Martinique, Dominica, Guadeloupe, Montserrat, Antigua and Barbuda, St Kitts & Nevis, and Anguilla.)

Nordic Region(Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Denmark.)

UK and Ireland Region (Britain, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales)

Eastern European Region (Part 1) (Poland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, Czechia, and Slovakia.)

Eastern European Region (Part 2) (Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Romania, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Moldova, Serbia, Kosovo, Albania, and Switzerland.)

Western European Region (Spain, Portugal, France, Belgium, Germany, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, and Austria.)

Southern European Region (Italy, Greece, and Malta.)

Russia Region

East Asia Region (Mongolia, Japan, North Korea, and South Korea.)

Southeast Asia Region (Vietnam, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Philippines, Cambodia, Myanmar, Laos, Indonesia, Hong Kong and Brunei.)

South Asian Region (India, Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Tajikistan, Kyrgystan and Afghanistan.)

China Region

Oceania Region (Australia, New Zealand, Tasmania, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, and Tonga.)

Middle East Region (Iran, Iraq, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, and Turkmenistan.)

East Africa Region (Egypt, South Sudan, Sudan, Libya, Chad, Somalia, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Tunisia, and Central African Republic.)

West Africa Region (Morocco, Mauritania, Western Sahara, Senegal, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone, Guinea, Mali, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Togo, Benin, Nigeria, Niger, and Algeria)

Horn of Africa Region (Jordan, Israel, Palestine, Turkey, Syria, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Yemen, Lebanon, Qatar, and Cyprus)

South Africa Region (Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Angola, Zambia, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, Botswana, Madagascar, South Africa, Lesotho, and Eswatini.)

Greenland, Arctic, Antarctic Region